The Chakra System: 7th Chakra (part 7 of 7)

“He who knows others is wise; he who knows himself is enlightened.”

-Lao Tzu

As I finish with the final article of this series on the chakra system, let’s recap.

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel of light.” Simply put chakras are the energy points that radiate, draw and store energy. There are many of these energy points in the body, but in this series we covered the seven main or more commonly known chakras, which run vertically from the top of your head down your spine. Each one of these chakras governs over a major organ or glad. Having balanced and aligned chakras will help you have balance in your body, resulting in you feeling happier, healthier and more in tune with yourself.  Chakras can become out of balance when they are over stimulated, underestimated or blocked.  This can be felt on an emotional, mental and physical level.  You can go online to read the previous articles in this series and read about chakras 1-6.

7th Chakra (located at top of head)

The “crown” chakra is related to knowingness, wisdom, connection to universal energy and knowing your own spiritual truths.  This chakra interfaces with cosmic energies and pure consciousness.  Here, the human being connects with the Universal Divine Energies.  Through this chakra you can experience knowledge beyond words or intellect.

In Balance: When the 7th chakra is in balance you are living with the knowledge of Unity.  Knowing that the Self reflects the Divine.  You are able to abandon individual ego for the unified self. Personal truths are known through this chakra and ideally this chakra brings us the ability to know what is true for ourselves and to know your life’s purpose.

Out of Balance: When this chakra is out of balance there is an inability to let go of anxiety or fear.  It can be difficult to imagine Cosmic Unity.  A sense of feeling unsatisfied or depression may be present.  A blockage prevents access to divine energy and can create the sense that others know what is best for you, a sense of being spiritually disconnected and endless searching for spiritual truth.

Affirmations for brining balance to the 7th Chakra

  • I am one with the forces of life.
  • I am truth, freedom, love and beauty.
  • I am divinely guided and protected at all times.
  • I open myself to experience the depth of my being.
  • I release my limited view of myself and attune to the oneness of life.
  • I am one with the forces of life.
  • I connect with the highest, clearest form of in the universe.


Associated body parts: Pituitary

Symbol: 1000-Petaled lotus

Color: White/Violet/Gold

Mantra and tone: Hum, OM, silence- no sound

Essential oils: Frankincense, olibanum, oakmoss, lotus

Gemstone: Amethyst, crystal, topaz, alexandrite, sapphire

<SCRIPT charset=”utf-8″ type=”text/javascript” src=””> </SCRIPT> <NOSCRIPT><A HREF=””> Widgets</A></NOSCRIPT>