The Chakra System: 6th Chakra (part 6 of 7)

“There is no logical way to the discovery of these elemental laws. There is only the way of intuition, which is helped by a feeling for the order lying behind the appearance.”

-Albert Einstein

6th  Chakra (located in center of forehead)

Over the last five editions, I have been writing about the chakra system.  It is now winter and this is fitting as I continue on with the 6th chakra. This chakra is about our intuition and winter is the perfect time for self-reflection and listening to that inner voice of wisdom.

The 6th chakra is often referred to as the “third eye” and portrayed as an eye in the center of the forehead due to its connection to clairvoyance or clear seeing.  This chakra enables the recognition of “Being”.  It connects us to that part of creation which is beyond science & physical manifestation.  Through this chakra the “knowing” of spiritual matters is passed down and so influences all other parts of an individual.

In Balance: Ideally this chakra brings us accurate perceptions, intuitiveness and the ability to tell a truth from a lie.  You have the awareness of the spiritual side of being.  It invites intuition and inner awareness into everyday life and connects us to the Universe.

Out of Balance: When this chakra is out of balance it can be experienced as rejecting spiritual aspects or focusing solely on intellect and science.  Only the obvious, surface meaning of a situation is seen by someone with a blocked 6th chakra, resulting with the deeper meaning being missed. A fear of intuition can be present or blindness to what is going on around you.  This increases the chances of you being deceived by others. A blockage will also cause energy to be directed toward self instead of in the service of others or towards humanity.


  • I listen to my inner voice and let it guide me to peace and happiness.
  • I am open to my intuition and trust that goodness is mine.
  • I am wise.
  • I love and trust that life is unfolding as it should.
  • I open my imagination to create the best of all possible worlds for myself.
  • It is safe for me to see.


6th Chakra
Expression of Being

Associated body parts: Face, eyes, nose, sinus, pituitary gland, cerebellum

Symbol: 96-Petaled lotus.

Color: Indigo/purple

Balancing color: Yellow

Mantra and tone: Ksham and OM, A

Essential oils: Jasmine, vetiver, basil, patchouli, rosemary

Gemstone: Lapis lazuli, sodalite, indigo sapphire, opal

<SCRIPT charset=”utf-8″ type=”text/javascript” src=””> </SCRIPT> <NOSCRIPT><A HREF=””> Widgets</A></NOSCRIPT>