The Chakra System: 3rd Chakra (3 of 7)

 “Confront the dark parts of yourself, and work to banish them with illumination and forgiveness. Your willingness to wrestle with your demons will cause your angels to sing.”
-August Wilson

As I mentioned in the first article of this series on the chakra system, Chakra is a Sanskrit word which means “wheel of light”.  There are seven main chakras and they are the store houses of our beliefs, emotions and experiences.  Each chakra has its own purpose, association and connection with our bodies and impacts how we relate to the world around us.

In this edition I will introduce Manipura or the 3rd Chakra.

The 3rd  chakra is where our personality is formed. It is located in the solar plexus and is the center of our self esteem and personal power.  It is the place from which we draw our strength and motivation to attain our goals. It is the store house of our judgments about the world and how we “should” be. This is where you experience your gut feelings and can feel your intuition.  You have probably experienced this at some point as the sensation of butterflies in the stomach or felt the pop of energy from someone who is upset with you.

In Balance: When the 3rd  chakra is in balance there is a sense of wholeness, inner calm and peace.  Judgment is let go and there is an inner tolerance and acceptance of the self and others.  Ideally this chakra brings us energy, self-esteem and the ability create what we want in the world.

Out of balance: When the third chakra is out of balance there can be a lack of trust in the natural flow of life.  Control issues can become prevalent and show up as the controller or the controlee. Issues of issues of self worth, self esteem, self criticism or being overly critical of others are common. Frequently people with blocked 3rd chakras have and an emphasis on the material.  They can be competitive, feel like a victim and experience the inability to create what they want.

Here are a few suggestions for brining balance to the 3rd chakra.

  • Focus on your strengths! No one is perfect.  Instead of beating yourself up, focus on what you are good at and allow those qualities to cultivate.
  • Honor and be true to who you are, were ever you are in your personal journey and allow the same for others.
  • My final and favorite suggestion is actually a lot harder than it sounds. It is however, one of the best tools for bringing balance to the 3rd  It comes from Louise Hay in her book You Can Heal Your Life.  (If you have not read it, I highly recommend it!) Look in the mirror, make eye contact with yourself and say I love you.  Repeat saying this until the uncomfortable feeling goes away.  Do this every day for at least a week.  It is also a great tool for when someone or something upsets you.  Just excuse yourself, go into the nearest bathroom and do the exercise.  It may sound silly, but it works!


Associated body parts: Abdomen, stomach, the back behind this chakra, liver, spleen, digestive system, gall bladder, nervous system.

Symbol: 10-Petaled lotus.

Color: Yellow

Balancing color: Purple

Mantra and tone: Ram, E

Essential oils: Chamomile, lemon, thyme, ylang ylang

Gemstone: Amber, tiger’s eye, citrine, yellow topaz, agate



Empower yourself by affirming your own self worth:

Divine power moves through me.

I am the only person who knows what is best for me.

I value who I am.

I am worthy of my own self love.

I honor myself and treat myself with respect.

I allow myself to become stronger and more alive every day.

I love myself.  I love myself. I love myself.

Kerri Burnside is the Co-Publisher of the Bellingham Muse. She has been teaching stress management for over 15 years and offers a weekly guided meditation for stress reduction that is open to the public. See the schedule and location here.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply